jayellebee's Blog

October 11, 2012

Politics

Disclaimer:  I am the retired soccer mom politicians have nightmares about after their sixteenth rubber chicken fund-raising banquet in twelve days.  Silly as it may sound, I vote for the candidate who most nearly reflects my values on those issues I deem to be important.  I disregard party affiliation, gender, race and creed.  A pretty face does not distract me and I’ve been known to “throw away” my vote rather than support either of the major candidates.  Remember Ross Perot?

That said, I’ve been plenty grumpy lately, what with local, state and national elections less than a month away.  What bothers me most is the negativism.  Grandma taught me the childhood standby, “Sticks and stones with break my bones, but names will never harm me.”  If that’s true, why are adults resorting to name calling?  I’m not referring to the people running for office and their expected mud-slinging.  No, I mean Joe Blow who refers to the president as “the monkey,” and his neighbor who can’t bring himself to use the challenger’s given name, preferring “that Mormon.”

Really now.  Are we children?

Suggestion #1 – In addition to showing a photo ID, voters should have to detail both candidate’s platforms with regard to the issues of foreign policy, education and the economy prior to receiving a ballot.  An informed electorate, that should cut down the time required to count the votes.

Three men at a dinner party I attended delighted in recanting the failures they witnessed during the first presidential debate.  Their voices rose.  Their faces flushed.  I suspect blood pressure readings would have confirmed a visceral response to the subject at hand.  All this without a dissenting voice in the house.

My own frustration with that debate centered on the moderator who seemed too intimidated to shut down either candidate when they both routinely ignored the pre-agreed two-minute time limit for responding to questions.  Why have rules if they’re only going to be thrown under the nearest bus?

Suggestion #2 – Wire the microphones so they are automatically switched off when response time has elapsed.  Or is that too naive and simple?

For me, the up side of elections is the fodder produced for late night TV and other purveyors of humor.   I’ve seen a few bumper stickers that warrant tail-gating in the name of a good laugh.  A friend and I had a brief chat about appropriate menu ideas for debate-night meals.  This evening, as Vice President Joseph Biden and Congressman Paul Ryan join us for dinner, Ken and I will nosh on bologna, mixed nuts and juicy raspberries.

  Suggestion #3 – If all else fails, Roseanne Barr is on the ballot as the Peace and Freedom candidate for president.

2 Comments »

  1. Joanne Brown for President! 😀

    Comment by Chris Pedersen — October 11, 2012 @ 4:44 pm | Reply

  2. Hi Joanne, Enjoyed your comments about the debate. I too was disgusted, particularly with the belittling of the office of the president. Not once do the opposing party take any responsibility for the financial mess they left.

    Comment by Fran Wojnar — October 20, 2012 @ 10:05 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.