jayellebee's Blog

October 19, 2010

Choosing My Fortune

Filed under: Musings — Joanne @ 1:41 pm

     It’s official, I’m old.  I’d say I’m mature, but everyone who really knows me would laugh at the lie.  The simple truth is, I’m old and I ain’t likely to get no younger.

     Ken and I spent Sunday afternoon with friends we’ve known since the early 70s.  Now, see?  Right there you know I’m old.  Young people haven’t lived long enough to have had friends for four decades!  The six of us lazed around noshing on chips and other equally empty calories, telling stories on one another.  The kind of stories only old friends can tell.  The kind of stories that everyone’s heard before and the very telling becomes a group activity – each person adding something extra from his or her own perspective.

     What smacked me upside the face was when the conversation turned to medical problems, prescription drugs, and operations.  I remember listening to my parents and their friends having this same conversation and thinking, wow, how sad.  The most important thing in their lives is what’s wrong with them.  So, the question is, when did I get to be this old?

     Of course, the flip side of this  tarnished coin is . . .  No.  There is no flip side.  My friends and I are old enough that subjects we used to discuss are no longer relevant.  Hip bands?  No.  Pregnancy?  No way.  The angst of raising teenagers?  Thank God, no.  I guess we could’ve argued politics, but the day was too nice and the room too comfortable to get up the full head of steam that discussion would’ve demanded.

     After a couple of hours, we headed to Fred’s, the local Chinese restaurant, for dinner.  Old fogies like us should’ve found a 4:00 early bird buffet, if we’d had our wits about us.  But Fred’s is close, and reliably good.

     Want to have some fun?  Sit back and listen to six intelligent, capable people trying to decide what to order in a Chinese restaurant.  The “Family Meal for Six” or individual entrees to share?  The subject went around the table like whirling water exiting a bathtub.  Round and round.  As someone on one side of the table would tout the benefits of entrees, another across the table would extoll the virtues of the Family Meal.  Then, each catching a bit of what the other was saying, both would waffle and take up the alternate argument. 

     Reminded me of my grandfather who would argue anything, anytime, with anyone, just for the pure joy of the argument.  Oh, no.  There it is again.  I’m becoming my grandparents!   Hmm, there would be worse things than having some cute little baby calling me “Grandma.”  But that’s another story.

     Dinner came to an end with the requisite fortune cookies.  I gathered up the abandoned strips of paper before leaving the table and shoved them in my pocket.  (Didn’t have my glasses, so I had to wait to read them later.  Another age thing.)  Only five of the six fortunes survived the ride home.  Maybe someone pocketed one, planning to play the lucky lotto numbers printed in red on the back.  As I read the predictions now, I don’t know which words were received by whom.  So, I get to choose which fortune will be mine.  A luxury few get to enjoy.

     “Someone is speaking well of you at this very moment!”

     “You are a leader.  Others soon will need your inspiration.”

     “You shouldn’t overspend at the moment.  Frugality is important.”

     “People in your surroundings will be more cooperative than usual.”

     “You have a charming way with words.  Write a letter this week.”

     I wonder if the people who write these things ever have a bad day.  Imagine cracking open a cookie only to read something like, “Your dog’s going to die and your husband is having an affair.”  You’d have to be a country western singer to make lemonade out of that one!

3 Comments »

  1. Hi Joanne,

    Another home run! Fun to read about gatherings that are so true with old friends. We try to minimize the medical conversations, and some of our friends have rules that such topics as aging, politics, and religion are forbidden. In my opinion, that omits some good rip-roaring conversations! My bank credit card says “A customer since 1971.” None of the bank employees can relate….Talk about age!!

    Keep on blogging….
    Your “Older” friend,
    Ann

    Comment by Ann Damaschino — October 19, 2010 @ 1:57 pm | Reply

  2. So which one did you choose? If it were me, I’d choose “someone is speaking well of you at this moment,” though I’d probably get the one about not overspending. Great post! Bee

    Comment by Bee Hylinski — October 20, 2010 @ 6:49 pm | Reply

  3. I vote for “you have a charming way with words” and I enjoy reading them!

    Comment by Donna — October 21, 2010 @ 10:43 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.