jayellebee's Blog

March 10, 2010

When You’re Hot, You’re Flamin’

Filed under: Musings — Joanne @ 3:54 pm

     My husband is a car guy’s car guy.  Ours may be the only house in town with a garage full of – get this – cars!  And his inventory of tools, neatly organized by function and size, could put many automotive stores to shame.  I mean, this man is the consummate gadget-a-holic.  If one floor jack is good, two must be better.

     So, last night while I worked in the kitchen, he watched some show on the Speed Channel.  (That’s right, the Speed Channel:  everything you ever wanted to know about the world of motor racing, Mecum or Barret – Jackson car auctions, new model reviews, etc., etc.)  The program followed the progress of modifications to a ’32 Ford Deuce Coupe roadster, including what even I had to concede was an extraordinary red paint job.  The depth of color was sufficient to transcend broadcast technology.  You wanted to touch the TV screen, the tone was so rich.

     The two blonds who commissioned the work (there’s always at least one blond on every Speed Channel show) agreed they wanted the car flamed.  No, not burned to a crisp.  They wanted flames added to the already amazing paint job.  The narrator offered some dribble about how a car with flames was not for the meek at heart.  There would be no subtle cruising around town in a flamed vehicle.

     I tossed our salad and grinned.

     My car is a PT Cruiser.  A red PT Cruiser named “Barnum.”  That’s right, P.T. Barnum.  Think strange little car disgorging dozens of clowns at the circus.  And Barnum is flamed thanks to the skill and efforts of a retired firefighter who enjoys doing the elegant gold foil work on our fire district’s trucks.

     PT Cruisers seem to appeal to people like me who have a slightly off-kilter sense of humor because, let’s face it, the cars just look kinda funny.  I have trouble discerning the difference between a high-end BMW and a generic Chevy, but I can pick out the PT’s silhouette across a crowded parking lot at dusk on a rainy day. 

     What’s under the hood doesn’t matter to me, as long as I have enough power to merge safely when entering the freeway.  I don’t care about driving fast.  But looking like I’m going fast  – even when I’m stopped – is just fine, thank you very much. 

     My car is soooo hot, little children point as they traverse the cross walk in front of us.  And even my husband the car guy enjoys that kind of attention.

1 Comment »

  1. You go girl! I like your spirit! See you Saturday. 🙂

    Bee

    Comment by Bee Hylinski — March 10, 2010 @ 7:17 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.