jayellebee's Blog

March 7, 2010

The Music Truck

Filed under: Musings — Joanne @ 10:05 pm

The Good Humor ice cream truck passed Shadow and me while we were out for our afternoon walk today.  The malicious driver piped an endless repetition of “It’s a Small World” into the neighborhood.  No problem.  The annoying melody will no doubt stop rocketing around the inside of my skull by the Fourth of July…. 

Shadow isn’t much of a conversationalist.  Guess it interferes with the intense focus she needs to suss out every squirrel within a three block radius.  (My dog may have been the inspiration for Doug, in the animated movie Up.  Squirrel!)  Anyhow, her silence leaves me alone with my thoughts and the cars whizzing by two feet away from us at 102 mph.  Today the ice cream truck reminded me how much power we parents have over our young children.  And how little we appreciate that power until they’re teenagers and we become powerless.

I told our first son the ice cream truck was a “music truck.”  Brian was perfectly willing to accept there are some people whose job it is to drive around playing music for complete strangers.  He was about three, why wouldn’t he believe me?  Besides, is that any harder to believe than the concept of Santa or the Easter bunny?  Come to think of it, I lied to the kid pretty routinely.  Huh.  Wonder if that has anything to do with my complete and lasting loss of credibility ten years later. 

There is some solace in knowing I’m not the only “big” person who has told untruths to “little” people.  A very dear friend once mentioned she felt her parents required her to babysit her numerous younger siblings a little too frequently.  In retribution, she spent the better part of one evening teaching her youngest brother “up” and “down.”  She trilled “uuuuupppp” while pointing at the floor, and “doooowwwwwnnn” while pointing at the ceiling.  Uh-huh.  The kid grew up to be a commercial pilot.  Sure hope he got that ingrained confusion straightened out.

2 Comments »

  1. Hi, Joanne, Yes, we all do tell untruths to our little ones. Some are innocent (the Tooth Fairy, Santa, etc.), some are necessary when they are little (Mommy, what are those two dogs doing?), and some are just lies. I sure hope that none of them do permanent damage. Certainly they are not reversible, as your friend’s son can attest: you can’t survive in flight school if you think the ground it up, unless he is doing aerobatics.

    Love your blog. Will visit often.

    Bee

    Comment by Bee Hylinski — March 8, 2010 @ 10:09 am | Reply

  2. Joanne,

    Not having kids, I take the opportunity of teaching other people’s kids to tell half-truths. In my cooking class, I tell the kids they have to talk in a whisper, because there is a yoga class next door. I tell them yoga people are very high strung people who badly need to relax, and if we are too loud, they will come in yelling and pulling out their hair. It’s very effective for keeping the noise down in my class. I think many of these kids will have fears of yoga classes in the future. However, now that I think of it, I’m not too far off from the truth about these yoga people.

    Kate

    Comment by Kate — March 8, 2010 @ 12:44 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.